Posted by: vcsbtown | June 29, 2010

Driving with less

I’ve been reading some cool articles from www.rowdykittens.com and www.farbeyondthestars.com about living car free.  I have not quite gotten there yet, as my commute to work is beyond walking and a bike ride.  Maybe one day.  But lately, I’ve been having to drive my brother’s Jeep Wrangler.  It’s a bit of a dichotomy as gas for this ride is brutal.  It feels like I’m filling up twice as much as my Honda Element.  One positive twist on this situation, though is the size of the vehicle.  Because it is small, I cannot put a lot of stuff inside.  Also, I like to drive with the top down, so I drive with little or no valuables with me.  It forces me to limit what I can take with me, so it is the necessities that I bring with me.  I realize that I really don’t really need to carry very much stuff with me.  Every little thing, therefore, becomes trivial.

Leave a Reply

Categories

